My LCBO shopping list

Time to recommend some wine.  I seldom do that in this wine blog because I get easily distracted by other things – like how much money baseball players make each day, how to win the British Open, how to get a Shampoo endorsement, the story of me getting trapped in the internet,  and such and such.

 Here are the top  9 wines that I buy at my local wine store (LCBO in Ontario).  I like them and I keep buying them. For those of you not comfortable with only 9 wines and need a top 10 – well you need therapy but feel free to add your wine in the comments section below.

Sicily Nero D’Avola.  At $10 it’s a steal – a steal I say. Look for it in the Italian aisle isle  but it’s NOT Italian – it’s Sicilian and it’s delicious. It will remind you of sitting outdoors at a trattoria.

 

AUSTRALIA Yalumba Y Series Shiraz Viognier - a Shiraz with manly tannins that’s not afraid to cry at a romatic comedy.  $15

FRANCE La Vieille Ferme - they don’t make wines from “the Old Farm” like they used to – or do they?  Rustic and French. What more could an eonophile want? More Ferme, that’s what they want. $11

 

FRANCE Bouchard Pere & Fils Macon - Cru Beaujolais for $14 with a great taste of sour cherry. Mmm sour cherry.

SPAIN Hecula Monastrell from Yecla (that really is the name of the region). A great Monastrell at a great price $14. Proving Spain does more than Rioja. This is part of the Vintages Essentials collection which means that it is readily available.

SPAIN Red Guitar - a classic GSM Rhone style blend from Spain at $12. Spain claims to have invented the Guitar and Mouvedre (Monastrell). I believe them because I like them and besides, they won the World Cup so they can lay claim to inventing football for all I care.

Jackson Triggs Meritage – this is a winemakers wine and I think that in Niagara a winemaker that knows how to blend their grapes is priceless. This is a classic blend of Cabernet Franc, Cabernet Sauvignon and Merlot and is my favorite Ontario wine hands down – especially years where the Cab Franc is prominent like in 2007. $13.45

Niagara Strewn Two Vines Riesling-Gewürztraminer.  Spice, pear and apple! It’s not bone dry but the spicy and acidic and  delicious cold – and I got to say Gewürztraminer again. $12

ITA Mezzomondo Salento -the distinctive brown label looks like it was made on papyrus and hand-drawn by DaVinci. It is a simple wine that I can’t stop drinking (in a good way).  Rustic and delicious – what more could you want for under $9.

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

6 responses to “My LCBO shopping list

  • Blair

    I’m recommending Angels’ Share shiraz, from the Two Hands winery in Australia. $27 and lots available right now all over Ontario. This one makes dinner guests say “Whoa, that’s good”.

  • Brad

    You didn’t include prices on 4 of the 9 wines?
    I need prices to help inform my decisions if I want to go “shopping” on the way home.

  • Travis Oke

    I corrected that oversight Brad – I forgot that you have an $8 limit per bottle.

  • Brother in Spain

    Red Guitar a Rhone style blend? I thought it was a Tempranillo (Spanish grape), and a Garnacha blend, (also a Spanish grape from the Aragon region which the French planted in the Rhone region and misspelled “Grenache”). I think that means that every Rhone blend is in the Navarra style. . . or is it a Red Guitar style blend.

    Indignant is Spain

    Brother in Spain

  • geoffrey james

    I’ll check out the Macon Beaujolais. The LCBO has very little interesting Beaujolais (compared with,say, its huge list of Valpols), but the Vintages 09 Chiroubles and Fleurie are good examples of a great year — and only 50 cents more than the non-village example. A small gripe — if you search the LCBO website by type, the cru Beaujolais will not come up, because it seems to be a simple word-recognition system, rather than an intelligent typology. This happens all the time — with Cote du Rhone, too. They could do better.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 574 other followers

