Art Nouveau

In case you forgot, the release of Beaujolais Nouveau is next Thursday.  This arrival of the “cookie dough” of wine is one of my favorite events.  Even the label garners some international hoopla.  Many (you know who you are) would argue that the label is the most interesting part about the wine. Not me.

Cool label.  I’ll let the Dubœuf PR department take it from here ….

“It’s a bold new pairing for Beaujolais. French wine producer Georges Duboeuf has collaborated with renowned Brooklyn artist Michael McLeer, a.k.a. Kaves, to create Nouveau Expression, a celebration of creativity, self expression and enjoying the moment, to coincide with Duboeuf’s release of the 2011 Beaujolais Nouveau.  A multi-talented artist specializing in graffiti, tattoo, music and film, Kaves designed a unique, graffiti-inspired urban celebration for the 2011 label.

“I wanted to create a celebration in a neighborhood that could be anywhere in the world with bright energy and a positive vibe,” said Kaves. “The corner of LIVE and LOVE is where I want to be. It’s a place where people live in the moment and love life. Beaujolais Nouveau is a celebration of friends and wine. My painting is a celebration of life. The two are a perfect pair.”

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

3 responses to “Art Nouveau

  • Brad

    Two things.
    1) I have made decisions based on labels. There is nothing wrong with that.
    2) Cookie Dough is my favourite DQ Blizzard.

  • Brother in Spain

    I’m a fan of the tradition, but I’ve never been wowed by a fizzy Nouveau. I’m with Brad re: the Blizzard. . . I suggest that the best use of a Nouveau is a Cookie Dough Nouveau Blizzard Float!

    Sorry I won’t be there for the party

  • linktrap.com

    The streets have names (sorry Bono) but the people have no faces – cyborgs?? … is this really the Matrix? Cookie Dough blizzard is akin to drinking Lakeport – the real Nouveau is Georgia Mud Fudge!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 523 other followers

