Why Italians are Clever

The Italians are brilliant people.  They have given the world so much culturally.  Sure there’s Dante (Inferno — the feel good book of 1308) and Da Vinci (that Mona Lisa girl is just plain cute), but I am talking about their real gift to the world, their real expression of genius – Espresso and Biscotti (the cookie so nice they bake it twice).  The Italians have made it perfectly acceptable to have cookies for breakfast!  If that’s not enough – and that should be enough- they drink adorable superstrong tiny coffees all day long. That is an act of pure genius.  Surely man can live on cookies and coffee alone.

I admit that when I visited Italy in the summer of 2008 I took far too many photos of my espresso – but the crema was so breathtaking I couldn’t help it.  Oh the crema of Italian espresso.

I did also discover the world of Barolo.  A quick side trip from Genoa found us in the town of Alba, situated between Barbaresco and Barolo.  A fantastic conversation with winemaker Sergio Rivetto left me with four great wines and considerably less room for credit on my Visa.

While I wait for my Barolo to age I am perfectly happy with my bright  Barbera d’Alba wines that cost a fraction of the price and remind me of Phil’s balcony in Genoa overlooking the Mediterranean.

And don’t get me started about my precious Parmegianno Reggiano …

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

4 responses to “Why Italians are Clever

  • Brother in Spain

    Oh the crema! Your espresso photos keep popping up on my screensaver and it makes me think of my few espresso fueled days in Genova. . . i’m still slightly jittery.

  • Anthony Blackwell Bier

    The passion for my Italian heritage has been reborn
    Grazie !!
    Tony

  • Annette

    Yeah!!! Something I can relate to. I have been reading and feeling I have nothing to say…for me as you know Travis..is quite something!
    I had no idea you were in Italy when I was..in the same region too!!!

    Did you get to Greve? There is a great little wine tasting ‘shop’ there that could have you tasting until you fall over (selection is incredible)

    My thoughts…
    Barolo…bello
    Brunello…bellissimo
    But have you tried Ornellaia?

    I have just been introduced to this primo vino and have yet to crack the bottle! Will do once we finish the big move to the new house in Caledon.

    Le Volte is the bottle I have purchased for this special occasion (reasonably priced 25.00ish) as the others, as you may or may not know, are quite out of my range!

    Let me know, I always value your insight!

    Any other light you can shine on this bottle would be greatly appreciated!

Leave a Reply

