MezzoMondo Negroamaro Salento – everyday red

I am sitting here completely enjoying this Italian red wine and can’t believe it cost me less than $9.  Spending $9 on a wine usually spells disaster – read plonk (somebody used word with me in casual conversation yesterday).  It is a great Rustic Red (Billy Munnelly’s clever classification system) that keeps asking me to drink it. And I do.

MEZZOMONDO NEGROAMARO SALENTO
LCBO 588962
| Price: $ 8.95  Puglia

Produced in a hot climate, the fruits are very concentrated but the wine is rustic enough to keep on drinking it.  Not overly sweet with more tannins that acidity – and it’s still under $9.  I know it’s “pazzo” but it’s true – and it’s still asking me to drink it. This wine makes me wish I had my own rating system for wines besides “I keep on drinking it” – which isn’t very clever but will probably catch on.  And to further my rave review – I just wrapped a sliver of parmigiano reggiano with a slice of bresaola and it made me very happy to wash it down with this wine.

I am resolved to find the other inexpensive Italian red wines that fit into my new classification.

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

4 responses to “MezzoMondo Negroamaro Salento – everyday red

Leave a Reply

