The Cask of Amontillado

I hope my brother likes me.

He has promised me a tour of Alvear’s winery in Montilla, Spain, this summer.  But if I’ve learned anything from literature (and I probably haven’t) then I need to be sure I haven’t insulted him gravely – recently.

The Cask of Amontillado is a great short story by Edgar Allan Poe.  It is a story of revenge and murder – set in Spain – with a Cask of Amontillado as the bait.  You may recall that Amontillado is not Sherry, but it’s darn close ( read Amontillado – Surely that’s a Sherry).

The story begins, “The thousand injuries of Fortunato I had borne as I best could, but when he ventured upon insult I vowed revenge.” Oh Edgar Allan, I think you know that the only thing more frightening than a raven is revenge.

To make a short story short –  Fortunato’s pride in his ability to tell Amontillado from Sherry is the bait and his downfall. He ends up intoxicated and bricked into a wall in the depths of the wine caves. I supposed in a very real way the bricks are his downfall.

There are several lessons from this story:

1. Don’t be sure you know everything about wine.

2. Don’t drink too much on a wine tour.

3. Fortunato is an ironic name (not bad for a PE teacher).

4. The saying  “keep your friends close and your enemies closer” is just stupid. Look what happened to Fortunato.

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

5 responses to “The Cask of Amontillado

Leave a Reply

