Italy ~ Let’s get ready to argue

I think I found the national past-time of Italians. Italians love to argue!  Whether it’s over espresso (Lavazza or Illy), soccer (InterMilan or AC Milan), or the best foccaceria (the one here or the one two doors down from here), Italians love to have heated “discussions”.  I don’t think it’s just my interpretation of watching them talk with their hands flying about – they love to argue.  They really are kind, generous people so who am I to argue over their love of arguing. Our train stopped due to technical difficulties the other day.  One older lady let the conductor know about it loud enough to entertain the rest of the riders. I’m not sure how to argue over a train’s technical difficulties but then again I am not Italian.

I’ve discovered I enjoy wines that are like Italians.  I want my wine to be delicious but to fight back a little.  I like that about the Bardolino that I am drinking.  Bardolino is from the lake district (Lago di Garda) east of Milan near Verona.  It has some nice berry flavours, is simple, but comes at you with a little edginess and tartness. I am coming home to try some of the LCBO’s bottles of Bardolino and see which ones I like fighting with ~ I will report on them early in September but if you want to try a couple and report to me I am ready to listen ~ and maybe argue with you.

Bardolino ~ you can't argue that this looks like a nice place to visit

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

One response to “Italy ~ Let’s get ready to argue

Leave a Reply

