Everybody stop fighting

There is a movement in support of screwcaps afoot. I’m not opposed to screwcaps but I am opposed to how the movement is presented.  

“Hey look at us, we’re cool and hip”.  “We don’t need those fuddy-duddy wine guys who look down their noses at us”.  “We drink wine out of a box too!”. “Studies show that blah blah blah…”.  At the Niagara wine festival I overheard one wine-maker say tell the audience, “you will never convince them that screwcaps are good”.  Now it has become an Us vs. Them thing!  

Hey dude – you’re missing the point.  This isn’t PETA or Green Peace or some anti-IMF group.  We’re talking about opening wine!  

The screwcap is already cool but not because the cork isn’t.  In fact, the cork is way cooler.  Part of drinking wine is the whole experience, not just the drinking of it.  As you can tell from my blog title, I am a fan of pulling the cork (or drawing it as the great wine snobs refer to the process) but I have several screwcap wines in my basement.  They are great! You don’t need a good corkscrew and the wines age without the chance of cork taint. But really – pulling the cork is so cool.  I love my corkscrew. I even love the French word for it  –  le tire-bouchon. Cool again.  

So you “hippie stick-it-to-the-man screwcap freaks” listen closely. I like your screwcap too but show some respect for my cork!  

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

2 responses to “Everybody stop fighting

  • Brother in Spain

    Hi,

    I like the cork too, but i just bought a Navarra Crianza with a faulty cork. . . the wine smelled terrible. I can’t complain though, because it was a buy 2 get 1 free deal. I choose to believe that it was the free bottle that tasted corky because that way I don’t feel like I’ve been ripped off.

  • Travis Oke

    You didn’t get ripped off – we never get buy 2 get 1 free here in Canada – we can’t even use our Canadian Tire money

Leave a Reply

