Le Nouveau encore

Pullthecork started out with the Nouveau release in 2009.  102 blog entries and 15,000 hits later it’s time for the Beaujolais Nouveau party again. I know that the release of Nouveau is a marketing scam by the French but I want to be scammed every once in a while.  Nouveau is light, delicious, and easy to drink.  Exactly what I want my blog to be.

I always buy from George Dubœuf – the king of Beaujolais – because he’s the king and because of how cool it is that the o and the e get stuck together when he spells his name. 

I also buy a couple other French nouveau and always try one from Ontario if the LCBO gets one.  This year Reif Estates releases The Fool Gamay Nouveau – so they are the first winery in Ontario to put a 2010 wine on the shelves.  Well done!

The benchmark - Duboeuf

Here’s the entire list of Nouveau available in Ontario Thursday.

France

  • Mommessin Beaujolais Nouveau,  $13.95
  • Duboeuf Gamay Nouveau, $8.95
  • Primeur Catalan Syrah Merlot,  $9.95 
  • Drouhin Beaujolais-Villages Nouveau, $14.95
  • Duboeuf Beaujolais-Villages Nouveau, $14.95 

Italy

  • Mezzacorona Novio Vino Novello, $9.95 
  • Negrar Novello del Veneto, $9.95 

Ontario

  • Reif Estates The Fool Gamay Nouveau, $10.95   
About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

2 responses to “Le Nouveau encore

  • Brother in Spain

    My favourite thing about the Nouveau is that I get it a full 6 hours before you do. Deboeuf and I will have lunch together long before the LCBO is open and I’ll be able to tell you how unbalanced, fizzy, and overpriced it is before you even get a chance to buy it. I LOVE THE NOUVEAU despite what Rob says. . . also, save a bit of whatever Rob brings to the party for me.

  • Travis Oke

    How do you say touché in Spanish

Leave a Reply

