What’s in this bottle?

 I know you catch more flies with honey but I am mad again. There is a white wine from New Zealand called Cat’s Pee on a Gooseberry Bush.  Stupid, stupid name. Unless that’s what’s really in the bottle – in which case it doesn’t qualify as “white”.

Hey I have an idea.  Let’s try marketing the wine instead of a stupid name.  Or maybe I should give in to stupid name marketing, rent Hot Tub Time Machine, open a bottle of Cat’s Pee on a Gooseberry Bush, and forfeit three hours of my life.

And yes wine historians, I know that “Cat’s pee on a gooseberry bush” is considered a classic descriptor of Sauvignon Blanc.  Not anymore it isn’t.

Okay – maybe it’s a funny label and I do love Sauvignon Blanc – if only I could be sure it’s not really cat’s pee in the bottle.

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

5 responses to “What’s in this bottle?

  • linktrap

    Toronto Life reviewed the 2007 and said, “while the label is amusing to some, the joke is tired after three years on the shelves” and I sense you feel the same way! Besides – it’s a bit gross and I know – I had cats!

  • Brad

    First of all, you absolutley can not catch “more” flies with honey!
    B)The origins of this name come from the Gatzby Gooseberry Bush, the fruit from tha particular bush was the first non grape wine in Australia and the name evolved into ‘Cats Pee’ and is nothing more than an inside joke for Aussies, so don’t get too worked up about it, let them have thier little joke and let me know what you think of Englands “Bottom of the Barrell” reds…

  • pdpace

    Stupid names = bad wine! Sorry if I sound like a snob but hey, I live in Italy. Just tell me what it is and what region it’s from. Right?

  • Gooseberry Wine « Pull the cork

    […] but it was the best wine at the wine festival. In any event I did not detect any evidence that a cat had peed on this gooseberry bush, just good old gooseberries. My collection of Uncle Art's […]

Leave a Reply

