Einstein would have loved an iPhone

I found myself staring at a great bottle of wine last week.  A 2004 single vineyard wine from Bodegas LAN –  I love LAN – then I remembered that I forgot to memorize the Rioja vintages chart. Was it 2004 that was a crappy vintage or 2003?  Who memorizes those things?

What I did remember was that  I own an iPhone – that means that with the proper app  I never have to remember anything – not even my phone number – AE would have loved that.

EINSTEIN, who was never able to recall his own phone number, was famous for not memorizing anything that could be quickly and easily looked up in a standard reference volume. “Never memorize what you can look up in books,” he said. In fact, EINSTEIN claimed never to memorize anything which could be looked up in less than two minutes.

Furthermore, EINSTEIN once declared that his second greatest idea after the theory of relativity was to add an egg while cooking soup in order to produce a soft-boiled egg without having an extra pot to wash. This was clearly a man who would have loved the idea of using his “telephone” to help him purchase a bottle of wine.

Neither Albert or I can memorize this and hey, 2004 was a good year!

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

8 responses to “Einstein would have loved an iPhone

  • Windy Kovach

    This is the BEST piece of information I have ever read. I could make hard boiled eggs the same time I’m making soup. I love multi-tasking! Thanks Albert and Trav.

  • Brad

    Did you know the actor Albert Brooks'(Lost in Aerica, Broadcast News)real name was Albert Einstein?

  • Brother in Spain

    Did you know that Albert Einstein was actually named after Fat Albert and that consequently Fat Albert invented the iphone? I’m not 100% sure if that’s true or not but I found it on the internet, so I feel pretty confident about it.

  • John

    Did you know that Al Gore invented both the internet and Fat Albert? That’s a known fact. I was so glad you HID the fact that 2004 was the better year – I almost had a panic attack.

  • Travis Oke

    Brad, Brother in Spain, and John – this is exactly what I was hoping my blog would come to – thank you for the wisdom of your input

  • essexwinereview

    I don’t own an iPhone but love LAN. Yesterday my wife and I opened a bottle of Bodegas LAN CRIANZA (2006 Vintage).

    It’s $15 at the LCBO and was very good. So good in fact that I plan to go back and buy a few more.

    Cheers!
    Gary K.

    • Travis Oke

      I’m glad to hear that it was good Gary. I didn’t buy it because it was only $6 in Spain and I couldn’t bring myself to buy it even though I know it’s a good wine. Maybe I need to get back there a get the LAN Crianza – it is a good everyday/special event wine.

Leave a Reply

