Went the other way

Last week I opened a wine that was bad. So bad that it ultimately “went the other way” – which is a cultural reference to the camp classic “Found a Peanut” (full lyrics below).  In this classic camp / bus ride song a man finds a peanut, ultimately discovers that it is rotten, but eats it anyway. It is at this point that my brother stops singing and voices his concern over the idiot that eats it anyway. Camp counsellors, in their quest for lengthy programming, don’t even stop the song to say to kids “don’t try this at home”.  Well, I took the way of counter-culture and did NOT “drink it anyway”.

It was so bad that I did pour it down the drain.  It didn’t really bug me that I bought a bad wine because in the words of Donald S. Cherry, “You have to try stuff”.  I took a risk, bought an inexpensive cheap wine and lost.

So instead of crying over spilt milk (bad wine) I went to my cellar and drank my last Monte Antico

Sometimes a man just has to do what the Wine Spectator tells him to do. Besides getting a great score from the tasters at WS (90), the Monte Antico also was also wine #61 of the WS top 100 in 2009. The blend for Monte Antico is 85% Sangiovese, 10% Cabernet Sauvignon and 5% Merlot. Drinking it reminded me that I like Sangiovese. It also reminded me that I have a newly found low tolerance for really bad wines.

For those of you that just cannot sleep without reading the lyrics of  Found a Peanut, here they are along with my brother’s commentary.

Found a Peanut Lyrics – traditional sung to the tune of Clementine.

Found a peanut, found a peanut,
Found a peanut last night,
Just now I found a peanut,
Found a peanut last night.

Cracked it open, cracked it open,
Cracked it open last night,
Just now I cracked it open,
Cracked it open last night.

It was rotten, it was rotten,
It was rotten last night,
Just now it was rotten,
It was rotten night (and the song continues endlessly on the bus ride in this manner)

Ate it anyway, ate it anyway, – which is the key to the story as far as my brother is concerned.  What idiot eats it anyway after discovering that it was rotten?

Got a stomach ache, got a stomach ache,
Called the doctor, called the doctor,
Penicillin, Penicillin,
Operation, operation,
Died anyway, died anyway,
Went to heaven, went to heaven,
Wouldn’t take me, wouldn’t take me,
Went the other way, went the other way,
Didn’t want me, didn’t want me,.
Was a dream, was a dream,
Then I woke up, then I woke up,.
Found a peanut, found a peanut,.

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

3 responses to “Went the other way

  • Brad

    I am not familiar with this song, but those lyrics are beautiful, they flow like poetry!

  • Brother in Spain

    Everyone thinks that the crux of the song is in the “Went the other way” line. I’m not convinced. “Ate it anyway!”. . . that’s the turning point! “Ate it anyway” bends but doesn’t break — that’s humour!

  • John

    I have no idea what the other “commenters” or “tormentors” are talking about. My only disappointment was that you didn’t take the bottle back for a refund. This either indicates that it was not purchased at an LCBO or it was just so cheap that your car ride to the store would have defeated the purpose! IN any event, I’m just so happy you don’t eat rotten peanuts.

Leave a Reply

