Albert “Gooseberry” Einstein and J. Crew

 

"Search me"

I have been doing some blog analysis recently and  I found that often people  get to my blog by Google searching the words “Einstein” and “Gooseberry”.  Interesting that people ever search for the word gooseberry. That I can’t explain. Maybe I should start using those words more in casual blogversation.

 

My other observation concerns fashion blogs –  read mostly by women. “J.Crew” is a highly searched word. Probably thanks to America’s obsession with what  Michelle Obama wears (I’m getting a WWMOW bracelet for my wife). What is really interesting about fashion blogs is that readers comment on the blogs all the time. My friend blogs about fashion and her “blog” turns into a virtual internet chat room (I guess they’re all virtual) with all the comments that follow a post.  I’m lucky if I get my two closest relatives and that linktrap.com guy to share anything witty on my blog.

 Understand that I’m not pleading with people to comment on my blog. I don’t really have time for that.  I guess all I want to say is –  Thanks  Uncle  Albert Gooseberry Einstein. You look great in your  J. Crew sweater.

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

4 responses to “Albert “Gooseberry” Einstein and J. Crew

  • John

    I’m not sure what I find more disturbing:
    1. your use of the made up word blogversation;
    2. your use of “interesting” in the same sentence as “fashion blogs”;
    or 3. your use of lucky and linktrap.com as a veiled compliment.
    In any event I NOW need to google “gooseberry” to see if I learn something about wine!!

    Linktrap Guy!

  • Doug

    Hey Travis,
    I have been following your blog since the shout out Billy Munnely gave you. We [Gf and I] actually just moved to Guelph and are in need of figuring out the wine scene here. I’d love to read your thoughts on the local scene as we know nothing.

    Thanks and keep up the good work!

    Doug

    • Travis Oke

      Doug,
      Several good restaurants have fine wine lists. The Red Brick Café has a self-guided wine tasting that is $10 per person. I think they are still using the wines I selected for them this past winter. The Scottsdale LCBO has the biggest Vintages selection but if you live downtown then the little store in Quebec Street has improved their selection recently. The Woolich Arms – besides having a great beer selectoin – has a nice selection of Inniskillin and JT wines.
      Welcome to Guelph.

  • Doug

    Thanks for the tips Travis. We have heard amazing things about the Woolich so it’s at the top of our list but we will keep our eyes peeled for some other hidden gems. For now we will keep working away at our tiny cellar. Thanks again Travis.

    Doug

Leave a Reply

