The Butcher told me to …

If you buy meat from your butcher – and why wouldn’t you – do you ask him how to prepare it?

I bought a rabbit Saturday.  “Domestique?” you may ask? “UN LAPIN” I would reply with a loud French accent – while making that kissing your fingers movement that somehow signifies delicious food.  It came cut into pieces which is nice since bunnys are cute and I was too hungry to have second thoughts about cooking my first rabbit.

I asked Andy (said butcher) how to cook it and he suggested braising it for 3 hours in white wine. I chose a Riesling from Alsace for my Rabbit  – it was delicious – thanks Andy.

Riesling for my Rabbit

Cool thing about the wines of Alsace – There is a legal requirement for bottling Alsace wine in tall bottles commonly called flûtes d’Alsace.  

Disclaimer – if you have a pet rabbit don’t let them drink Riesling.  It’s not good for them. Besides that, rabbits prefer beer – you know because of the hops.

WILLM RÉSERVE RIESLING (V)
VINTAGES 11452 |  Price: $ 15.95
12.0% Alcohol/Vol.
Made in: Alsace, France
By: A. Willm

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

8 responses to “The Butcher told me to …

Leave a Reply

