Hello My Name is Barbera

I have just realized that I love Barbera wines.  Barbera d’Anything is good. Barbera d’Asti, Barbera d’Alba, or Barbera d’Ann (“that’s ridiculous – that’s not even a wine – it’s a song by the Beach Boys – he’s making a  Beach Boys joke”). I think I even like Barbra Striesand.

I found this Barbera d’Asti using my BillysBestBottles app (in the category of Rustic Reds)- then verified that it was available in my closest store using the LCBO app – all this while standing right in front of the wine I was looking for while having a conversation with the manager of my local LCBO. No kidding.  I could have just asked him for a recommendation but its more fun to justify my iPhone again this month.

Barbera is the grape used in Piedmont Italy to make fantastic wines – berries, cherries, and low tannins – who wouldn’t like that for a simple, delicious wine. This one is inexpensive and tasty.

Who’s your favorite Barbara?

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

3 responses to “Hello My Name is Barbera

Leave a Reply

