“Stop the press!”

Is there really anybody who works at a newspaper that can yell “stop the press!” anymore?  That would be one of the greatest moments in an editor’s life. I have a newspaper editor friend and he can only remember it happening once.  Doesn’t it seem like J. Jonah Jameson yells it all the time in the Spiderman comics? Maybe that’s “PARKER!”.

One of the greatest moments in a wine-writer’s life is the discovery of a new great wine – and by great I mean inexpensive – and by new I mean I haven’t purchased it before – and by wine I mean … well I guess the rest is literal.

Here’s a great wine that I found at the LCBO – to be truthful  Gord Stimmell (Toronto Star) found it first and that’s how I found it – Gord, sorry about calling you a jerk last year. I love Bardolino – it is the forgotten grape of Veneto, Italy.  Everyone is usually all like “I love the Ripasso, and oooh the Amarone, etc etc“.  I’m all like, “I love the sour freshness of the Bardolino” and then I break into the song Oklahoma (using the word Bardolino – try it now – it’s compelling).

Hey Gord, looks like Decanter magazine also likes your Bardolino – “You’re looking fine Bardolino …

MONTE DEL FRÁ BARDOLINO 2010
VINTAGES 134544 | Price: $ 12.95

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

6 responses to ““Stop the press!”

  • John Matthews (@linktrap)

    You and Gord seem to be on a first name basis … that’s sweet.

  • Brother in Spain

    Singing Bardolino to Oklahoma was fine until I got to the spelling part at the end. . . Bardolino has too many letters, and yet i keep singing it.

  • Marta

    Congratulations for your article. I’m Spanish and very much into the wine world. Apart from writing about wines as much as I can I also try to taste different wines in the search for good and cheap wines because this wine passion is not especially cheap. I always try to find those very good wines with affordable prices (and I’m almost an expert!).

    I would like to share with you some of my discoverings from Spain. From Ribera del Duero area, the one I like best, I would like you to try Vegazar. It is a round wine, with character, intense oak touch and full of aroma. Its price is as amazing as its taste and it’s not only me who is fond of it but everyone I have introduced to this great red wine.

    From Rioja I would say Consejo de la Alta. This small bodega works in an ecological way and they really love wine. You can taste that from the second right after uncorking.

    I use to buy these two and some others from a Spanish supplier. It’s already been 8 years as customer and I’m always glad I met them. I know for a fact that they deliver abroad (as I have send some wine cases to friends in different parts of Europe and Asia). You can contact them at: diazalamos@diazalamos.es or through Facebook.

    Hope you find this info as useful as I found yours. I am a fan!

    Marta

Leave a Reply

