Acronyms worth learning

I stopped learning new acronyms years ago.  I find them annoying – but maybe that’s because I’m in education where acronyms seem as important as curriculum. I just knowingly nod my head when they come up in conversation. You know what? If you wanna talk to me you have to use full words now. I’m acronymed up to my eyeballs.

However, and it’s a big but, I found a new acronym that I was willing to learn.  Last week was Ontario Craft Beer week and my wife and I attended an event at The Albion.  My new favorite acronyms are IPA and RPA.  The Mad Tom IPA (India Pale Ale) and the Cameron’s RPA (Rye Pale Ale) were hands down the winners of the event. And while the Albion wasn’t really holding a contest you need to remember that I have a Physed degree and most everything is a contest to me.

While I’ve always been a fan of the Wellington SPA (Special Pale Ale) I was blown away by two ales at the event.  Muskoka Brewery’s Mad Tom IPA is made with two hops and a whole lot of WOW.   It tastes like somebody threw a whole bucketful of  spices in the brew. A predominant juniper / pine finish makes for an exceptional IPA.  The second great ale, Cameron’s Rye Pale Ale (RPA), was the most complex ale I’ve ever had.  It is made with 7 different hops and a generous amount to rye.

However, there is a major flaw in this RPA. You can only get it at the brewery in Oakville.  So I’m begging somebody in Guelph to carry the RPA on tap – I’m begging you – throwing down the gauntlet if you will.  Baker St? Wooly? Any takers? I have the regional rep’s business card if you need it.

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

7 responses to “Acronyms worth learning

Leave a Reply

