Blizzardy Days

There’s nothing like a good teachable moment.  Here we are at the cusp of the biggest blizzard of the year. “Where were you during the Blizzard of 2013?” people will be saying for years.  What was I doing?  Making a good argument in favour of the wine cellar.  “A wine cellar in every home” would be my political platform if I ever ran for Mayor (watch out Cam Guthrie ).

If the people at the weather network have taught me anything it’s that my level of alarm should be directly proportional to their level of excitement.  What meteorological freaks they are at the Weather Network! Although to be fair, this storm is their “Superbowl” so I’m happy for them.

Which brings me to my point.  It’s times like these that you need a modest wine cellar.  Who wouldn’t want to tuck in to a nice tannic red wine on a blizzardy day?

PrimitivoI keep a couple of bottles in my basement just in case.  I’ve finished the last of my Y2K scare stock but I’m always ready for the next natural / unnatural / or other disaster. Tonight I drank Primitivo – Zinfandel’s inexpensive Italian cousin.

LUCCARELLI PRIMITIVO PUGLIA IGT LCBO 253856 | Price $ 9.95 

Bonus Reward Miles Offer
Earn 4 AIR MILES® reward miles Until Mar 2, 2013 – and get yourself out of this stupid weather * (I added that last bit)

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

2 responses to “Blizzardy Days

Leave a Reply

