Piña Coladas?

On my most recent visit to the wine store I was approached by another customer.  I took this as a sign that I appeared to be a confident shopper and therefore likely to have answers for a lady who frankly, looked lost.  “Excuse me”, she started, “do you put rum in your piña coladas?” she asked.

I was completely taken back.  I looked down at my shirt thinking maybe I had the same one on as the employees. I didn’t.  I realized I wasn’t really sure what she had just asked me.

“Do I put rum in MY piña coladas?”, I replied, “Or do you mean is rum the alcohol that is used to make piña coladas?”.

By this time I had said the words “piña colada” more than any other time in my life combined.  I’ve also never had a piña colada so I wasn’t sure of the answer.

Then I became alarmed.  Not because I started singing that horrible “If You Like Piña Coladas” song [which I  haven’t gotten out of my head yet], and not because I didn’t know the answer, but because apparently I looked like a guy who drinks piña coladas.

That’s not the look I’m going for. I may not get over this for a while.

For the record the last rum I purchased was a sipping rum and it was delicious.

appleton-estate-12-year-old

APPLETON ESTATE EXTRA RUM
LCBO 105742 | 750 mL bottlePrice $ 35.95
About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

14 responses to “Piña Coladas?

Leave a Reply

