Face to a name

Just the other day I saw a man I didn’t know – at least I didn’t know that the man I was looking at was somebody that I knew. Has that ever happened to you? I guess the idiom is “putting a face to a name” and I suppose I took the long way to explain that.

One of my favourite rustic wines is the M. Chapoutier Côtes du Rhône. While reading the a wine magazine this weekend I saw a photo of a very friendly winemaker named Michel Chapoutier. “Hey, I know that guy” was my first thought – only to realize that I didn’t know that guy, I just read his name on the wine that I was drinking. Seemed odd to me that I thought I knew a guy just because I drank his wine.  He seems like a nice guy.

michel

See what I mean?

“Bonjour Michel, je m’appelle Travis” [I learned that in grade 7].

0321539CHAPOUTIER COTES DU RHONE VILLAGES
LCBO 321539 | Price: $ 19.45

A little more than I pay for Côtes du Rhône ordinaire but worth it. Rustic, jammy, long finish. Merci Michel. Nice to finally meet you.

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

Leave a Reply

