The Authoritative Guide to Beaujolais Nouveau

There is only one winner in a contest like this – and that winner is me.  Having a house full of friends eating and drinking unpretentious wine is the best of all worlds.

But in a very real way 3 wines won this year’s Nouveau competition. Here’s how I saw it anyhoo.

#1. Georges DuBoeuf Gamay Nouveau – at $10 it is a great price point.  Tart, juicy, and a bit of effervescence. This, in my humble opinion [which is the only one that counts in my wine blog] is the perfect Nouveau. So good that I only have empties left.

IMG_8255

 

#2. Mommessin – at $14 it’s not a crazy “fou” price and it inspirted the art that my girls draw every year on our chalkboard.  The smoothest, most well balanced of them all.  I have a couple left to serve with American Thanksgiving turkey this week.

 

IMG_8254

 

#3. Georges again – this time with this fancy label Beaujolais Villages Nouveau, that is a little pricey at $15 but what cha gonna do?  Georges knows Nouveau. Good enough to tuck away in my cellar until Christmas and even as long as Easter.

IMG_8253

 

Heavy Criticism Alert.  Hey Joseph Drouhin.  Stop trying to charge me $16 for Nouveau. You were very tasty but I could save my money and buy more of those expensive French copper pots I love if you would charge me $10 like you should.

IMG_8252

Thanks to all the other wines that participated. Here are my thoughts on you.

Italian wine … you tasted too much like Uncle Tony’s garage wine at the end. I liked your effort at rustic but it turned out a little too rustic if you know what I mean.  And Ontario wine … I like Jolly Ranchers as much as the next guy but sweet jolly rancher wine is not my idea of a Nouveau.  Art … I just didn’t like you.  Nothing personal.  I know that sounded personal but it’s not.  I will buy you again next year.

 

 

 

 

 

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

6 responses to “The Authoritative Guide to Beaujolais Nouveau

Leave a Reply

