Hyperbole

Its that time of year again where I address my concerns to the majority of the population who still think it’s a good idea to drink water – a myth exaggerated and perpetuated by what Fox News is now calling the “Water Right”. 

These water people like sticking to “tried and true” health practices .  I hear things like “if water was good enough for my grandmother …”. I remind these people that gramma readily  consumed Mercury to cure anything for a scraped knee to muscle pain. 

Me, I like to approach this not as an historian, or even a scientist, but rather as a fear-mongering blogger.  Who in their right mind ingests an odourlesss, colourless, tasteless liquid?  Especially when there are several excellent bottles of flowery, salmon-hued, delicious chilled bottles of rosé that are good for you.

Also, the few times I’ve tried to “hydrate” myself I found that I needed to pee frequently – Travis doesn’t need that again.

My prescription this summer is Muga rosado.  Available at the LCBO for under $14. It seems like a wise choice to me. Hopefully someday one of my grandchildren will be heard saying “if it was good enough for my grandpa …”

     

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

2 responses to “Hyperbole

Leave a Reply

