Aboriginal Wine

Recently I spent 1 week on Vancouver Island with my daughter.  Beautiful.  Honestly considered not coming back and sending for the rest of the family to pack up and join us there instead.  Did you know they can grow fig trees on the island?  For some reason that excited me.

Also, what excited me was when M found us a bottle of Nk’Mip wines – Canada’s first Aboriginal owned and operated cellar.  We drank the Dreamcatcher – a blend of Riesling and Chenin Blanc. It was dry, crisp, with lemon and melon notes, and just a touch of sweetness at the end from the ripe fruits. I’ve never had an Aboriginal wine before – and if you think of it, who knows how to work the land this country better? The Okanagan people have been growing crops here for centuries.  The wine was beautiful – like the Island. Seriously, look a this photo and for the love of sweet baby bacchus somebody tell me why i didn’t send for the rest of the family and just stay there.

IMG_1469

Nk’Mip Dreamcatcher

Home base on Van Isle

Home base on Van Isle

 

Fig trees! Told yaIMG_1392

 

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

One response to “Aboriginal Wine

  • Cousin Eddie

    I can’t buy Nk’Mip wine. I like my BC vineyard owners hands to smell like soil, not like money. (see you in a week!)

Leave a Reply

