Something New-ish

Checked my wine cellar this morning and all my wines are one year older!  Awesome.

img_3721
I’ve started something new in my expensive IKEA wine cellar.  One cube is now dedicated to Sours and specialty brews.  Even they are one year sourer. And as you will see, there is a local touch to this Belgian craft of making sours.

Sour beers are intentionally made to taste sour, often with the use of barrel aging where wild yeast strains enter into the brew, or by adding fruit to the beer to allow a secondary fermentation. I prefer the former style. Commonly made in Belgium and Germany, they are the most wine-like of all beers, often exhibiting tannins instead of hops.  I’ve even had them served to me in a wine glass at a fancy beer place in TO.   Royal City Brewing Co. has been bottling some of their own for me [maybe not just for me but it feels like it].

And now a brief tour of my collection – my delicious collection which has my my wine cellar more delicious.

img_3722

The Rodenbach brothers, from Belgium, produce this delicious red sour.  Thanks to my daughter M’s friend Matt for suggesting it, and to M for hunting it down in an LCBO in Toronto for me.

img_3724

Cam and the boys and Royal City Brewing Co. right here in Guelph made this aged in Chardonnay barrels.  A personal favourite – $6.95 at the brewery.

img_3723

The Royal City Brewing Co.’s latest German-style sour.

img_3725

All the way from Germany – Schneider Weiss Cuveé Barrique. Again, thanks Matt and M – you guys do good work.

 

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

Leave a Reply

