Irish research

I have some Irish in me – not enough to want a “kiss me I’m Irish” t-shirt – but I do look Irish and I can imitate a leprechaun’s voice if necessary. So before St. Patrick’s day I may find the time to reread Thomas Cahill’s “How the Irish Saved Civilization” but I will certainly find time to get my drinks in order.

Breaking from tradition I’m going to pair ale with whiskey to celebrate – no wait, that is tradition.

  img_4588
Tullamore and Smithwick’s.

Here’s what you need to know

  1. Smithwick’s is pronounced “Smith-icks” or “Smitt-icks”
  2. You can also pronounce it /ˈsmɪðᵻks/ – but I don’t know how to read that
  3. /ˈsmɪðᵻks/ is a red ale – clear and dark red in colour, less sweet than a brown ale
  4. Tullamore dew is a well priced Irish whiskey [$32]
  5. Irish whiskey always ends “ey” unlike scotch whisky “y”
  6. The two are produced a short 1 hr drive from each other in the heart of Ireland
  7. Limerick always makes me giggle

img_4587

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

Leave a Reply

