Good save on Father’s Day

Even though i get treated like royalty and pampered on Father’s Day it is still my responsibility to provide sweet Bacchus’ beverages to go with the food and the overall experience.

So when i pulled out a bottle of bubbly cava my daughter M asked if i was sabering.  Sabrage seemed like a good idea – because it’s fun, it’s cool, and what could possibly go wrong combining alcohol and a large chef’s knife?  So despite the bottle shape not being ideal for sabering i made up my mind faster than my wife could ask “do you need me to bring you the large knife?”

While it didn’t quite go as planned [photo evidence below] – almost no cava was spilled and the glass did stay primarily in 3 large chunks [yes, it should be two].

img_5929

My favourite all-time party trick to impress my favourite daughter who is of drinking age. I know – it looks dangerous. This time i wish i could say that it only looks dangerous.

So while things didn’t quite go as planned i did save face by offering an evening red wine that prompted “ooohs” and “aaahs” from everyone.

img_5934-1

My favourite American wine for my favourite American wife. It’s dangerous too – dangerously tasty!

 

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

Leave a Reply

