Cat Wine

I finally found a cat wine that i want to review!

img_3633
At least I think Château Hauchat loosely translates as “House of the Frisky Cat” or “High Cat” or “Top Cat”. Also, the most likely explanation is that i have no idea what the word “hauchat” means.  Etymology notwithstanding [cool I’ve never typed that word before], this is a $16 wine that tasted like $30.

100% Merlot [which if i do the math correctly is all of it] and aged 15 months in barrels, Hugh Johnson describes it as “medium-powered, more juicy than meaty, with fresh acidity and a tannic nip”.  I can’t argue with Hugh, partly because i know all those words but have never heard them used together in a sentence before. Also, he ends his descriptors with the word “nip” which makes me think of catnip which is enough rationalization to me for calling it a cat wine.

Château Hauchat 2011 Bordeaux, France—VINTAGES#: 123489   $15.95

 

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

One response to “Cat Wine

Leave a comment