Nectar in Nature and Noble Dogs

This past week i adventured my way into the wilderness of Muskoka and then backroaded my doorless Jeep to a Cidery in the middle of the S. Ontario countryside.

I’m blogging this blog with blog pictures.  Blog.

While off the grid in Lagoon City …

I ventured off the beaten path [see what i did there muskoka brewers?] to Muskoka Brewery. A craft beer oasis in the heart of mosquito cottage country…

where i especially enjoyed the “guerrilla taps” [you have to ask for the secret taps] offering of the Gose and the newly LCBO’d All Eyes on Yuzu – an American Pale Ale with hint of Yuzu fruit I got a private tour, mostly because i sat down and pet Bree the dog who loved me so much and next thing i know i’m privy to the secrets of Muskoka Brewery.  True Story.

After getting home to Guelph, I took the doors off the jeep …. weeeeeeee

and took the backroads with Wm. Shakespeare’s words in mind, “get thee to a Cidery”. I easily found West Avenue Cider House, [30 mins from Guelph, 15 from Hamilton] said hello to the chickens running around and ordered up.

Took my drinks outside. Put up my feet ….

and enjoyed the  appley nectar how sweet baby Bacchus intended it to be enjoyed – outdoors on an apple orchard. You can’t believe what they do with apple juice –  barrel aged, wild fermented, mullberried, vinified, and so many other clever ways that the brewmaster makes their cider.  It really is so much fun. You can hold the chickens and pet Rosie – the noble beast of a dog who resides at West Ave.

Disclaimer – no actual gorillas were harmed researching this blog. Also, i never really paid attention in English class.

 

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

Leave a comment