Gooseberry Wine

I  obtained a bottle of Gooseberry Wine this week – same supplier as my High Bush Cranberry Wine .  This wine had only a hint of smelly sock on the nose. I was a little disappointed because I like being offended by a wine’s nose. I once had a delightful Coyote’s Run Cabernet Franc that smelled like a goat farm (and not in the good way) but it was the best wine at the wine festival. In any event I did not detect any evidence that a cat had peed on this gooseberry bush, just good old gooseberries.

My collection of Uncle Art's wine

 

This Gooseberry wine was not nearly as tart as the instant puckering taste of a gooseberry but  rather tasted of very nice ripe fruit.  I also received a lovely Elderflower wine that was delicate – like you would expect a flower wine to be – and became a great conversation piece at the Craig’s birthday party.  Uncle Art, keep making wine and don’t forget who your relatives are!

Gooseberries

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

4 responses to “Gooseberry Wine

Leave a comment