Don’t Speak

At my annual Beaujolais Nouveau party this year there was considerable discussion about which wine was the best.  To be frank, there was more discussion about the wine than I was comfortable with. Nouveau isn’t meant to be discussed.

However, since we’re on the topic …

Best local wineChateau des Charmes Seven Generation. Somebody commented that it tasted like the wine that their Dad used to make.  We all concluded that was a good thing. I hope people keep buying it so that the Chateau makes it again next year.

Best Italian – they both tasted the same to me but they were very good.  To be honest they annoyed me because 1. They tasted too much like real wine and 2. Their labels weren’t festive or fun. Actually, the discussion of these two topics with Roger was the only “wine” conversation I was comfortable with all evening. I  think the Italians deliberatly make good wine with serious labels just to bug the French.

Best true NouveauGeorges Dubœuf Gamay Nouveau – light, spritzy, festive label, inexpensive.  This is what Nouveau is supposed to be – but I’ve already said too much.

About Travis Oke

Wine writer / consultant View all posts by Travis Oke

6 responses to “Don’t Speak

Leave a comment